Day 26, Old Versus New

4:04 pm

This topic comes back to me in many facets.   Old regime of 30 minutes of yoga in the morning or exercise versus writing.  Old friend versus new friend.  Old designs versus my new designs.  Old clothes versus new clothes.  I can probably keep going, I think it touches everything.

On one hand the old is lovable in its depth.  There is no fantasy about the old, you know it.  Its greatness and its follies.  On the other hand, the new is so exciting.  There is a veil of fantasy.  You only see its shininess and none of the cracks.  On the other hand, the cracks is what gives it its shininess, its human perfection.  I don’t have an answer.  They are both good for what they are old versus new.

One old habit I want to reintroduce is Julia Cameron’s, The Artist Way, 30 minute morning pages. When I tell “new” friends about it, some know it as the back of their hand and some have never heard about it.  I am constantly shocked when people have never heard of it.  It should be like yoga or weight watchers.  Everyone should have at least tried it. 

30 minutes when you wake up in the morning, it doesn’t have to be right away, of stream of consciousness writing.  I was about to google it now because I thought someone else probably could explain it better.  But for this project, I will give it a try.

I wrote anything.  I wrote my to do list for the day.  I wrote curse words over and over for a whole page.  I wrote my feelings.  I wrote how happy I was to be alive and to have my whole family alive.  I wrote 20 things that I appreciate about my life.  I wrote lists of goals and things I am the most thankful for.  I wrote lists of all the things in the world that ever want to do and all the places where I ever dream of traveling to.  I wrote all my dreams and all the dreams that have already come true.  I wrote anything that was on my mind the second that I started writing.  Kind of like this but with much much much less filter.

What did it do for me?  Guess.

Anyway, it feels good to get that on paper because when people ask me, I start gushing and can’t think straight. 

Next topic.  Gushing.  I gush a lot.  I am easily excited or maybe just sensitive.  I am excited by a new person I met, even if its a lovely bodega store cashier.  I am really excited about some new spiritual exercise that I have been doing and has been working for me, like Julia Cameron (but its not new, its time tested).  See, I am gushing there.  I am excited about the Food Coop… Just ask me about it, and you won’t hear the end.  I am excited about my son, but I really try not to gush about him.  Anyway you say things about your son, its really obvious gushing.  I would love to shout from the rooftops ” I have the cutest son in the Universe.’ – but see, that doesn’t sound so good, especially to someone else with the cutest son in the Universe.  Lets put it this way, I think he is awesome.  I wouldn’t change even the thinnest little hair on his body.  He is real and we do our best to keep it real. 

So what is it about gushing?  Is it good, is it bad.  You know what I mean.

4:23 pm back with more on gushing.

Leave a comment